Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: MB1 story by Major Jim Bernthal

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post

MB1 story by Major Jim Bernthal

Greetings fellow Bremont supporters,

My name is Jim Bernthal and I am a retired Marine Harrier/instructor pilot. I recently purchased Bremont’s MB1 model and I am anxiously awaiting its arrival. While many of you are watch enthusiasts with much more knowledge of chronometric timepieces, I enjoy them for their beauty, craftsmanship and sentimental value. For instance, I own a Breitling Colt which I received as a gift from my father as he was dying of pancreatic cancer in 2005. I proudly display this watch on my wrist on special occasions and you would think I was the only person in the room wearing a watch because it holds that much emotional value to me.

The MB1 will be of similar value. On March fourth, 2008, I ejected both myself and a student from a jet that became uncontrollable on touchdown due to a mechanical malfunction. I broke my back but flew again until the full extent of my injuries was discovered. It wasn’t until a year and a half later when I was researching information for a speech, that I came upon Doctor Martin Luther King’s famous, March on Washington. I saw sign after sign being held high by people of all different demographics, which read “March for equal rights”, “March for jobs now”, March four higher minimum wage”, etc. At this time I had an epiphany and realized that I ejected on March fourth. I also realized that we must all “March forth” through the tough times in our life. I believe we are seeing tough times in the world right now, so we must, as you guessed it, “March forth”.